Dear friend,
Greetings to you in Jesus’ Name!
Several friends have asked me recently if I have plans to resume travelling. My answer is simply to say that I have a blank sheet in front of me! For the present time I am at home on my first day of the new lock-down!
I am working hard to get my garden and house in order before winter arrives! During this strange time, it has been tremendously important to me to be living near to Matthew and Angie, and Beth and Gareth who have been doing my shopping, following my hasty return from Portugal. Since then I have enjoyed chilling out with both families.
In August I went on holiday to Wales with Beth, Gareth, and their children – they take their 6-berth caravan and I follow in my 2-berth caravan, so thankful that I get to share their holiday, camping in farmer’s fields with electrics and running water and not far from the sea!


These past months have certainly been different for us all. I have enjoyed zoom immensely, visiting house meetings in different locations and so blessed in fellowship! Truly, the Lord has brought us back to meet in house-churches! I have also spoken on Christian radio, on the subject of "Isolation" (this document expresses my heart and understanding of things at the present time). "Elijah" (a great example of lock-down) and my document on Ruth has been revised). See the link at the end of my letter which gives access to these documents. I am planning a series of studies for Christian radio and for Africa (Tanzania).
My love for teaching the doctrines of Scripture came about through "The Christian Worker’s programme" which was a residential course for men and women who desired to study the Scriptures and prepare for ministry, it was based on our local church at Raglan Road, Smethwick. Over a period of 10 years we taught theology, specific books of the Bible and revival in the context of christian history. At the end of that time I relinquished my full-time ministry in the local church to teach in Bible Schools and churches abroad. I was invited to teach a comprehensive course on systematic theology in a college in Malaysia for 3 months – I have returned several times since. For the past 17 years I have taught these doctrines from Scripture in countries as far apart as Haiti, Kazakhstan, India, Africa, Ukraine and Albania.
Five years ago, I completed a similar course called "Study for Life" at Raglan Road church. This 4-year course, which I had taught in Bible Schools was now accessible to brothers and sisters in the local church. The new course on Bible theology will be a further simplification and refinement of "Study for Life" and thus I believe, it will be more accessible to a wider audience and particularly suitable for Africa. I will begin with the inspiration and authority of the Bible followed by a Survey of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation. I will then teach the following subjects: the doctrine of God, the triune God, the person of Christ, the doctrine of man, the doctrine of sin, the doctrine of salvation, the doctrine of the church and the Holy Spirit and the doctrine of the Second Coming.
This new series of teaching will begin to be broadcast later in the year by Mike Coles and recorded on zoom weekly. They text will immediately be translated into Swahili in preparation for a visit to Tanzania. We are looking to the Lord for continued grace, inspiration, revelation, and strength to undertake this new series of studies!
I plan to visit Steve, Manjit and their family later in the year in America. Both Hannah and Daniel are married (Hannah has two little girls – Avelina and Lucy), Amy and Ellie are at University and Isaac is completing his final year at school before he goes to University. His ambition is to play basketball at college!
A few weeks ago, I had the joy of conducting the wedding of Laurie, Katie’s oldest daughter. Only 20 guests were allowed and only 6 in the chapel which is linked with the National Trust property called "A La Ronde" on the edge of Exmouth, the setting was very much Jane Austin! Laurie had a long walk to the chapel, through a meadow of long grasses and wild -flowers before she arrived at the entrance gate where George was waiting to take her into the chapel for their wedding.


I am thankful for your loving support and prayers. I am always humbled when I am told that dear friends are praying for me daily. I am indeed blessed! Thank your input into my life by your prayers. We fellowship together in the work of the Lord and that means not only what I am doing but also what you are doing for Him,
"Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labour is not in vain in the Lord" (1Cor.15:58).
May the Lord bless you as we face the further challenges imposed by this second wave of coronavirus infections. Although Paul was confined in prison for 6 years, see what he did for the Lord and the churches associated with him during that time! You have read each of those letters he wrote from prison. Confinement is the opportunity for us to discover new ways of enjoying our liberty in Christ, developing gifts which have lain latent inside us and the opportunity discover new channels for witness and service and to contact old friends.
Much love to you in the Lord Jesus,
Derrick.