Dear friends,

Greetings and love to you in Jesus’ name! I wrote my last letter to you in October, never expecting that we would be in lock-down over Christmas, it seems to have become our way of life!

Over the past month I have been talking on New Life Radio every Wednesday at 4.00pm about the Birth Narratives of Matthew and Luke. I began my talks with the Emmanuel prophecies in Isaiah and on the 23rd Dec, we looked at the angel proclamation of Jesus’ birth and the shepherds visit to see the new born baby. This is the story which has captivated the world, but a world that knows nothing of the life and teaching of Jesus, His death and resurrection. We, like the shepherds spread the good news that Jesus has come to bring light and joy into a world filled with fear and hopelessness, a world in confusion, a world with no identity. The gospel is the only hope for salvation.men and Women will recover their lost identity when they turn to Jesus Christ. The magi who followed the star over 1,000 miles, came to see the newborn King, reminding us that Jesus through His birth has opened a way for all nations and people groups to seek and to find Him. I conclude the Birth narratives by talking about the actions of the Holy Spirit as described by Luke. In January I will resume my talks on each book in the Bible and we will continue with Exodus.

During lock-down I have been able to travel regularly to different places on zoom. Each Sunday I begin in Exmouth, with a group called "True North" with my daughter Katie (I go there 4 times a week). Later I go to Cowbridge (near Cardiff) to a house church associated with my friends John and Jan Britton; I can then go to the morning meeting at RRCC (Smethwick) or Emmaus (Warrington). In the afternoon I go regularly to a Bible study at Emmaus. One thing at the heart of these very different gatherings is the full participation of each person, sharing their insights into Scripture. If churches throughout the U.K. met together for fellowship, sharing together in the Scriptures and Breaking Bread together the church would be in renewal. We can benefit immensely from the unique way we can relate together on zoom. I know we need to meet naturally and physically, face to face, this is the meaning of Emmanuel, God with us in such a way that we can touch Him and enjoy Him by personal interaction. Through zoom I have met new brothers and sisters and over the weeks of lock-down I have come to know them on a deep level of fellowship as we have shared together in the Scriptures. I can’t wait to meet them in the flesh!

During lock-down I have successfully completed a doctorate in divinity, (DD). It is just one way of stretching the "little brain cells!" To qualify to do the degree, I had to have completed a good number years of ministry, I had to give proof of legal ordination (which I had from when I lived in USA and was a prospective missionary with the Oriental Missionary Society) and I had to give proof of the contents of my M.A. from the University of Wales. My son Steve is a pastor in America (he was born there) and he is doing a doctorate, so I get to read his essays!

I am in Beth and Gareth’s family "bubble" so I am spending Christmas with them and Caleb has been staying at my home since his return from university. I am so blessed to have part of my family very close; although it is hard not to be able to visit my other children, Katie in Exmouth, Steve in America, Matt in Birmingham and of course, my grandchildren.

Najua Diba, the Brazilian sister who planted the church at Kamez, in Albania died a couple of months ago through Covid-19. It has been my privilege over the last 13 years to visit the church and to be enriched by their love. I attach a tribute to her life which you may want to contribute to.

Blessings for the New Year; we remind ourselves that the Lord is not restricted by Covid-19, rather, it provides an opportunity to discover the simplicity of meeting in homes (via Zoom) and ensures the possibility of each member of Christ’s body finding a place of identity and ministry. The simplest definition of the church is given by Jesus, "For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them" (Mat.18:20). Jesus is present as Lord and head of His church, the focus of our love and adoration!

Thank you for all those who continually speak encouragement to each of us in the Harrison family and thank you for those of you who pray daily for us.

Derrick & family – blessings from Jesus to you!

Derrick Harrison